The Mike & Carla Morning Show

Weekdays 5:00am - 10:00am

One hit wonders

National One-Hit Wonder Day is September 25th! It was declared by music journalist Steve Rosen in 1990, to remember artists who had their five minutes of fame once upon a time, and have since been wiped from our memory. So, The Mike & Carla Morning Show wanted to know your favorite “One-Hit Wonder”! Keep in mind there’s a few to choose from…in fact, KKLZ probably plays a lot of your one-hit wonder favorites!

However forgettable the artist might or might not have been, their hit songs will forever be etched in our minds. Even though you’ve forgotten your anniversary date, and your PIN number,  you’ll always be able to sing along to the chorus of  ‘Ice, Ice Baby’  or ‘The Macarena” at any given time. These songs are connected to specific moments from our past and remembering them allows us to revisit our former selves.

Of course, The M&C Morning Show wanted to know your favorites and you did not disappoint! If you’ve not already, our KKLZ listeners gave us some of their favorites already, but feel free to give us yours on the KKLZ Facebook page! Doesn’t even matter if yours has already been listed, maybe you have a specific reason as to why you liked that song. Was it because or a relationship, summer vacation, high school memories, or it was just your favorite song when it came out? All great reasons as to why we celebrate this day!

Whatever the case maybe, we all have a favorite…and that’s what makes them a “one-hit wonder” and so special to us! So think about it, then list your favorites on our FB page this weekend and don’t be shy or embarrassed…in fact, scroll down to see the list of songs that have already come in and enjoy!

Follow us anytime, anywhere:

  • "Come on Eileen" by Dexy's Midnight Runners

  • Tainted Love by Soft Cell

  • "Spirit in the Sky" by Norman Greenbaum

  • "In The Year 2525" by Zager and Evans

  • "Play That Funky Music" by Wild Cherry

  • "Counting Blue Cars" by Dishwalla

  • "Don't Worry Be Happy" by Bobby McFerrin

  • "Save Tonight" by Eagle Eye Cherry

  • "Buffalo Stance" by Neneh Cherry

  • "Take On Me" by A-ha

  • "Party All The Time" by Eddie Murphy

  • "Sausalito Summernight" by Diesel

  • "I Can Dream About You" by Dan Hartman.

  • "Band Of Gold" by Freda Payne

  • "Video Killed the Radio Star" by The Buggles

  • "Drivers Seat" by Sniff 'n' the Tears

  • "Stuck In The Middle With You" by Stealers Wheel

  • "Afternoon Delight" by Starland Vocal Band

  • "Magnet and Steel" by Walter Egan

  • "Loving You" by Minnie Ripperton