KKLZ Music News

UPDATE 9/1/2021 1:55 PM ET: Elton John has announced a new album, The Lockdown Sessions, which features a stacked all-star list of guests including Stevie Nicks, Eddie Vedder, Stevie Wonder, Nicki Minaj, Dua Lipa and more.

The album is due out on October 22 with the full tracklisting and guest lineup listed below. Some of the tracks on the LP are from collaborations that have already been released, but per Billboard, “‘The Lockdown Sessions’ will also feature 10 brand new songs, featuring stars such as Lil Nas X, Nicki Minaj, Charlie Puth, Stevie Nicks, Stevie Wonder and many more.”

In a statement on the album, Sir Elton said, “The last thing I expected to do during lockdown was make an album. But, as the pandemic went on, one‐off projects kept cropping up and I’ve ended with a selection of really interesting and diverse stuff that was completely different to anything I’m known for, stuff that took me out of my comfort zone into completely new territory.”

He continued, “And I realized there was something weirdly familiar about working like this. At the start of my career, in the late 60s, I worked as a session musician. Working with different artists during lockdown reminded me of that. I’d come full circle: I was a session musician again. And it was still a blast…I can’t wait for you all to hear the album when it’s released on October 22.”

The Lockdown Sessions is available for pre-order now in a variety of formats and bundles at EltonJohn.com.

Elton John – The Lockdown Sessions – Tracklisting

1. Elton John & Dua Lipa – Cold Heart (PNAU Remix)
2. Elton John, Young Thug & Nicki Minaj – Always Love You
3. Surfaces feat. Elton John – Learn To Fly
4. Elton John & Charlie Puth – After All
5. Rina Sawayama & Elton John – Chosen Family
6. Gorillaz feat. Elton John & 6LACK – The Pink Phantom
7. Elton John & Years & Years – It’s a sin
8. Miley Cyrus feat. WATT, Elton John, Yo-Yo Ma, Robert Trujillo & Chad Smith – Nothing Else Matters
9. Elton John & SG Lewis – Orbit
10. Elton John & Brandi Carlile – Simple Things
11. Jimmie Allen & Elton John – Beauty In The Bones
12. Lil Nas X feat. Elton John – One Of Me
13. Elton John & Eddie Vedder – E-Ticket
14. Elton John & Stevie Wonder – Finish Line
15. Elton John & Stevie Nicks – Stolen Car
16. Glen Campbell & Elton John – I’m Not Gonna Miss You

Elton John is up to something, and it involves a lot of his very famous friends.

Over on Twitter, Sir Elton shared a number of soundless videos featuring an artist’s name in front of a bold, sequined background. Among the names dropped are Stevie Nicks, Eddie Vedder, Stevie Wonder, Glen Campbell, Lil Nas X, Jimmie Allen, Brandi Carlile, SG Lewis, Miley Cyrus, Gorillaz, Charlie Puth, Surfaces, Years & Years, Rina Sawayama, Young Thug, Nicki Minaj and Dua Lipa.

Meanwhile, over on John’s Instagram, the past nine posts create a larger image of the iconic artist wearing Gucci shades and a face mask adorned with sequins. Each post is captioned, “ANNOUNCEMENT COMING SOON.”

Whatever is about to be announced, it sounds like it’s going to be BIG!

Elton John: His 40 Greatest Songs

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well-versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice. #TransRightsAreHumanRights

Sign me up for the 96.3 KKLZ email newsletter!

You love 96.3 KKLZ, so join the VIP Club! Be the first to know about our amazing ticket giveaways, the latest updates with your favorite artists, and more delivered right to your inbox.

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.