KKLZ Music News

5th April 1969: Rock singer Janis Joplin (1943 - 1970). (Photo by Evening Standard/Getty Images)

Big Brother & the Holding Company’s Cheap Thrills turned 50 in August, and it’s the latest classic album getting the reissue treatment.

Due out November 30, the reissue will be titled Sex, Dope & Cheap Thrills, which was the album’s original title but was deemed “too controversial” by the powers that be at Columbia Records.

Per JanisJoplin.com, the reissue will be available in two formats:  A 2CD set with 30 tracks, featuring different studio cuts and live versions, and a 2LP set with 16 tracks.  (Track listing for the 2CD set is below.)

Sex, Dope & Cheap Thrills is available for pre-order at JanisJoplin.com.

Big Brother & the Holding Company – Sex, Dope & Cheap Thrills – Track Listing

Disc One
1. “Combination of the Two” (Take 3)
2. “I Need a Man to Love” (Take 4)
3. “Summertime” (Take 2) *
4. “Piece of My Heart” (Take 6)
5. “Harry” (Take 10)
6. “Turtle Blues” (Take 4)
7. “Oh, Sweet Mary”
8. “Ball and Chain” (live, The Winterland Ballroom, April 12, 1968)
9. “Roadblock” (Take 1) *
10. “Catch Me Daddy” (Take 1)
11. “It’s a Deal” (Take 1) *
12. “Easy Once You Know How” (Take 1) *
13. “How Many Times Blues Jam”
14. “Farewell Song” (Take 7)

Disc Two
1. “Flower in the Sun” (Take 3)
2. “Oh Sweet Mary”
3. “Summertime” (Take 1)
4. “Piece of My Heart” (Take 4)
5. “Catch Me Daddy” (Take 9)
6. “Catch Me Daddy” (Take 10)
7. “I Need a Man to Love” (Take 3)
8. “Harry” (Take 9)
9. “Farewell Song” (Take 4)
10. “Misery’n” (Takes 2 & 3)
11. “Misery’n” (Take 4)
12. “Magic of Love” (Take 1) *
13. “Turtle Blues” (Take 9)
14. “Turtle Blues” (last verse Takes 1-3)
15. “Piece of My Heart” (Take 3)
16. “Farewell Song” (Take 5)

* Previously released

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock blogger that loves the smell of old vinyl in the morning.

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well-versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice. #TransRightsAreHumanRights

Sign me up for the 96.3 KKLZ email newsletter!

You love 96.3 KKLZ, so join the VIP Club! Be the first to know about our amazing ticket giveaways, the latest updates with your favorite artists, and more delivered right to your inbox.

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.