KKLZ Music News

CLEVELAND, OH - AUGUST 30: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum on August 30, 2017 in Cleveland, Ohio.

Bon Jovi, the Cars, Dire Straits and the Moody Blues will all be part of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s class of 2018, joined by Nina Simone and, as an Early Influence, Sister Rosetta Tharpe.
The inductees were chosen by an international voting body of more than 1,000 — including artists and current living Rock Hall inductees — while a fan vote, won by Bon Jovi, created one ballot that was counted among the rest.

Dire Straits, the Moody Blues and Simone were on the ballot for the first time this year, while the Cars and Bon Jovi were each making their second appearance.

The induction ceremony will take place April 14 at Public Auditorium in Cleveland and filmed by HBO for subsequent broadcast. A week of activities surrounding the ceremony, including the unveiling of an exhibit dedicated to the inductees, that will be announced in the new year.

Tickets for Rock Hall members and donors go on sale December 31, with a public sale announced in January.
 More details and updates will be available at RockHall.com.

Members of the bands who will be inducted include:
Bon Jovi — Jon Bon Jovi, David Bryan, Tico Torres, Alec John Such and Richie Sambora
The Cars — Ric Ocasek, Greg Hawkes, Elliot Easton, David Robinson and Benjamin Orr
Dire Straits — Mark Knopfler, John Illsley, Pick Withers, David Knopfler, Alan Clark and Guy Fletcher
Moody Blues — Justin Hayward, Graeme Edge, John Lodge, Ray Thomas and Mike Pinder

Gary Graff is an award-winning music journalist who not only covers music but has written books on Bob Seger, Neil Young and Bruce Springsteen.

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well-versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice. #TransRightsAreHumanRights